Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington
  • People  |

collage of photos

Graduate Studies



Paloma Fernandez SanchezDoctoral Graduate, Paloma Fernández Sánchez

(Ph.D., 2011) begins a tenure-track position in the Department of Classical and Modern Languages at the University of Louisville.


HenriksenDoctoral Graduate, Nicholas Henriksen (Ph.D., 2010) begins a tenure-track position in the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures at the University of Michigan.

For many years standing, our Ph.D. graduates have had an outstanding placement record, having been appointed to tenure-track positions at fine institutions across the country. Rrecent job-seeking graduates have accepted offers at University of British Columbia, Northern Illinois University, and University of Missouri - St. Louis.

Tenure-track Positions Accepted by Our Recent PhDs (2000-2012)

Since 1996, the Merle E. Simmons Distinguished Alumni Award (MESDA) has been given annually to an alumna or alumnus of the Department who has brought distinction to her or himself. Awardees return to Bloomington to present a lecture to the department and receive their award. Past recipients are listed below, with their affiliation at time of the award:

Dr. Michael Schuessler 2013-14   B.A. 1989 Indiana University
August J. Aquila 2012-13   Ph.D. 1973 Indiana University
Judith Nantell 2011-12   Ph.D. 1978 University of Arizona at Tucson
Janet Dudley-Eshbach 2010-11   B.A. 1974 President of Salisbury University, Maryland
Philip D. Rasico 2009-10   Ph.D. 1981
M.A. 1975
Vanderbilt University
Frances Aparicio 2008-09   B.A. 1978 University of Illinois at Chicago
Michael A. Schnepf2007-08   PhD 1985University of Alabama
Marjorie Agosín2006-07   PhD 1982
MA 77
Wellesley College
Eduardo González2005-06   PhD 1975Johns Hopkins University
Patricia Lunn2004-05   PhD 1984Michigan State University
Candyce Leonard2003-04   PhD 1992Wake Forest University
Janet DeCesaris2002-03   PhD 1988
MA 79
Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona
Margaret Persin2001-02   PhD 1977
MA 72
Rutgers University
Norma Alarcón2000-01   PhD 1983
MA 72
BA 70
University of California-Berkeley
Roberto González Echevarría1999-00   MA 1966Yale University
Cristina González1998-99   PhD 1981
MA 78
University of California-Davis
Margarita Suñer1997-98   Phd 1973
MA 1970
Cornell University
Julie Greer Johnson1996-97   PhD 1975,
MA 1970
University of Georgia

In 2007, the department also recognized a group of recent alumni in our symposium “The Other Golden Age,” in which four graduates who received the PhD between 2001 and 2003 were invited back to present their active research and meet with current graduate students.