Indiana University Bloomington

Facebook

Support the IU Sociology Department

Give Now

Graduate Students

Name
Year Joined Sociology
Research and Teaching Interests
Email
Apgar,
Lauren
2010
Social movements, immigration, and public policy. laapgar@indiana.edu
Blind,
Jason
2010
Children & youth, education, social psychology jblind@indiana.edu
Caplan,
Zoe
2012
  zcaplan@indiana.edu
Caputo,
Jennifer
2010
Social psychology, mental
health and emotions, gender, the family, and physical disability
caputoj@indiana.edu
Chavez,
Christine
2004
Sexuality, religion, gender, violence cchavez@indiana.edu
Cohen,
Emma Dolores
2012
  emdcohen@indiana.edu
Collins,
Steven
2008
Sexuality, gender, identity, language stmicoll@indiana.edu
Coutley,
John
2011
  jcoutley@indiana.edu
DiGrazia,
Joseph
2006
Political Sociology, Social Movements, Quantitative Methods, Computational Sociology jdigrazi@indiana.edu
DiSabatino,
Lydia
2010
Education, Education Policy, Stratification, Race and Ethnicity, Political Sociology lfdisaba@indiana.edu
Doan,
Long
2009
Social psychology, identity, emotions, status, and justice longdoan@indiana.edu
Doran,
Kevin
2007
Cross-national research, stratification, political sociology, and globalization kevdoran@indiana.edu
Erving,
Christy
2007
Medical sociology, mental health, race/ethnicity, immigration, social psychology cerving@indiana.edu
Ferrufino,
Elizabeth
2012
Law & society, immigration, and race, ethnic, and gender inequality ferrufie@indiana.edu
Foster,
Shandu
2010
Medical sociology, race/class/gender, sexualities, and gender identity shjfoste@indiana.edu
Foston,
Amia
2005
Organizational Sociology, Sociology of (Higher) Education, Stratification/Mobility, Economic Sociology, Social Networks afoston@indiana.edu
Friedman,
Natalie
2010
Sexuality, race, class and gender, religion, and media nhfriedm@indiana.edu
Furre,
Ivan
2005
Religion, comparative, language, social psychology, social networks ifurre@indiana.edu
Gougherty,
Matthew
2006

Culture, inequality, theory, race/class/gender

mtgoughe@indiana.edu
Grace,
Matthew
2010
Medical sociology, social psychology, and networks mkgrace@indiana.edu
Grady,
Rebecca
2008
  rkgrady@indiana.edu
Greer,
Kerry
2006
Organizational theory, nonprofits, collective action, poverty and inequality, gender, scholarship of teaching and learning kergreer@indiana.edu
Groggel,
Anne
2012
  agroggel@indiana.edu
Haag,
Meredith
2010
Inequality, Education, Public Policy mchaag@indiana.edu
Hatteberg,
Sarah
2007
Sociology of Mental Health, Medical Sociology, Sociology of Sport, Social Psychology, International Migration sjhatteb@indiana.edu
Helvey,
Felicia
2012
Stratification and inequality, higher education, political sociology, gender and sexuality, class, race, self and identity, research methods fhelvey@indiana.edu
Irby,
Amy
2006
Medical sociology, mental health, race/ethnicity, qualitative and quantitative methods airby@indiana.edu
Izienicki,
Hubert
2008
  hizienic@indiana.edu
Johnston,
Joe
2010
Education, political sociology, comparative/historical

johnstjb@indiana.edu
Jordan,
Kristin
2006
Sociology of Education; Stratification and Inequality; Quantitative and Qualitative Methods; Survey Design and Methodology; Scholarship of Teaching and Learning; Race, Class, and Gender jordankm@indiana.edu
Kincaid,
Douglas
2005
Political sociology, religion, immigration adkincai@indiana.edu
Knight,
Syndee
2006
Stratification and Inequality, Crime, Education, Family, Community, Mental Health and Illness, Life Course, Research Methods sgknight@indiana.edu
Kucinskas,
Jaime
2007
Religion, globalization, cross-national research, inequality jlkucins@indiana.edu
Kye,
Samuel
Stratification, Neighborhood Effects, Race and Ethnicity skye@indiana.edu
LaTouche,
Rachel
2009
mental health, stratification, inequality, race/ethnicity rlatouch@indiana.edu
Li,
Ke
2006
Sociology of Law, Sociology of Gender, the Sociology of Culture, Political Sociology, Ethnography, Archival Research, China and East Asia like2@indiana.edu
Lista,
Peter
2012
Organizational Sociology, Economic Sociology, Social Psychology, and Cultural Sociology plista@indiana.edu
Liu,
HuiGuo
2008
Economic sociology, quantitative methods, health, epidemiology, social network liuhuig@indiana.edu
Loehr,
Annalise
2009
Gender, family, stratification, and social psychology aloehr@indiana.edu
Loney,
Trevor
2011
  tloney@indiana.edu
Lu,
Alexander
2008

Social psychology, emotions, race/ethnicity, health/illness

ajlu@indiana.edu
Martinez,
Elizabeth
2011
Education, Immigration, Race/Ethnicity martela@indiana.edu
McConnell,
Will R.
Social Networks, Health & Mental Health, Friendship, Suicide wimcconn@indiana.edu
McCranie,
Ann
2003
Medical sociology, mental health and illness, networks, social movements, and organizations amccrani@indiana.edu
Meanwell,
Emily
2004
Education, culture, inequality, qualitative research methods, social theory emeanwel@indiana.edu
Miller,
Jacob
2011

Social Psychology, Self and Identity, Gender, Culture, and Social Stratification

jam27@indiana.edu
Miller,
Lisa
2009
Gender/race/class, sexualities, social psychology, and the sociology of education milllisa@indiana.edu
Mize,
Trenton
2011
Social psychology, quantitative methods, medical sociology, gender tdmize@indiana.eduu
Mukherjee,
Shibashis
2009
Social psychology, emotions, medical sociology, sociology of work, gender smukherj@indiana.edu
Oberlin,
Kathleen
2007
Sociology of Science, Social Movements, Place & Built Environment, Medical Sociology, Research Methods, Public Sociology kcoberli@indiana.edu
Oslawski-Lopez,
Jamie
2009
Sex and gender; organizations, occupations, and work; family; quantitative and qualitative methods. jloslaws@indiana.edu
Ponce,
Aaron
2008

International migration, immigration policy and politics, welfare state, Scandinavia, human rights

ajponce@indiana.edu
Powers,
Alyssa
2008
  alypower@indiana.edu
Prewitt,
Dana
2007
Race, Class and Gender; Work and Organizations; Social Psychology; Scholarship of Teaching and Learning dsprewit@indiana.edu
Puentes,
Jennifer
2006
Race/class/gender, sexuality, sociology of family, and social psychology jpuentes@indiana.edu
Rohrman,
Shawna
2007
health and illness, race and ethnicity, life course, social psychology, quantitative methods srohrman@indiana.edu
Rudel,
Daniel
2011
  drudel@indiana.edu
Schnabel,
Landon
Gender/race/class, religion, violence, political sociology, sociology of knowledge, and justice lpschnab@indiana.edu
Setchfield,
Scott
2008
 Symbolic interactionism, qualitative methods, inhabited institutions, and social movement organizations ssetchfi@indiana.edu
Sevell,
Eric
2011
Criminology, Criminal Justice, Deviance, Urban Sociology, Social Psychology, Qualitative Methods esevell@indiana.edu
Simacek,
Kristina
2009
Medical Sociology, Social Networks, and Social Psychology ksimacek@indiana.edu
Smith,
Shawna
2005
Political and organizational sociology, stratification, cross-national research, quantitative methodology, social networks sns3@indiana.edu
Steffy,
Kody
2007
 Culture, Work, Inequality, Religion ksteffy@indiana.edu
Summers,
Nik
2009
Research and teaching interests – sustainable urbanism, civil society, culture, politics, organizations, religion, theory nesummer@indiana.edu
Tabor,
Jaclyn
2009
Family, Social Psychology, Political Sociology, Life Course, Research Methods jtabor@indiana.edu
Taliaferro,
Megan
2010
Communities, urban sociology, social networks, inequality, and education metaliaf@indiana.edu
Thomas,
Byron
2004
  bykthoma@indiana.edu
Tilly,
Mary Kathryn
2011
  mtilly@indiana.edu
van der Does,
Tamara
2011
religion, immigration and gender tvanderd@indiana.edu
VanHeuvelen,
Jane Schlapkohl
2009
  jdschlap@indiana.edu
VanHeuvelen,
Tom
2009
Political sociology, culture, and stratification tvanheuv@indiana.edu
Vasseur,
Michael
2008
Political Sociology, Culture, Environmental Sociology, Political Discourse, Fiscal Sociology, Religion mvasseur@indiana.edu
Wright,
Eric
2012
Religion, Political Sociology, Law and Society, Social Movements, and Inequality

wrightel@indiana.edu
Wurgler,
Emily
2009
Religion, Culture, Politics, Public Opinion
ewurgler@indiana.edu
Yurk,
Natasha
2011
Education, higher education, family, social class, children and youth nmyurk@indiana.edu
Zack,
Elizabeth
2011
  eszack@indiana.edu