Indiana University Bloomington

Facebook

Support the IU Sociology Department

Give Now

Sociology Faculty

Arthur S. Alderson
Phone: 812-856-5883
aralders@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Website
Professor. Ph.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 1997.
Comparative and Historical Sociology, Social Stratification, Economic and Political Sociology, International Development
 
Keera Allendorf
Phone: 812-855-1540
kallendo@indiana.edu   Website   Vita
Assistant Professor. Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 2009.
Demography, Family, Health, Gender, India, Nepal
 
Weihua An
Phone: 812-856-1370
weihuaan@indiana.edu  Vita  Website
Assistant Professor. Ph.D., Harvard University, 2011.
Quantitative Methods, Social Network Analysis, Causal Inference, Organizations, Health and Social Policy
 
Stephen Benard
Phone: 812-856-7418
sbenard@indiana.edu   Website
Associate Professor. Ph.D., Cornell University, 2008. 
Social Psychology, Intergroup Conflict & Cooperation, Gender, Collective Action, Inequality, Theory, and Social Networks
 
Clem Brooks
Phone: 812-855-8939
cbrooks@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Rudy Professor. Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1994.
Electoral Politics, Public Opinion, Social Change, Quantitative Methods, Welfare States
 
Jessica Calarco
Phone: 812-856-5499
jcalarco@indiana.edu    Biographical Sketch   Vita   Website
Assistant Professor. Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 2012.
Education, Family, Children and Youth, Culture, Stratification, Social Interaction, Ethnography
 
Youngjoo Cha
Phone: 812-856-1798
cha5@indiana.edu   Vita   Website
Assistant Professor. Ph.D., Cornell University, 2010.
Gender Inequality, Work, Labor Markets, Mobility, Social Inequality, Organizations, Employment Discrimination, Quantitative Methods
 
Donna Eder
Phone: 812-855-4895
eder@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Professor. Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1979.
Sociology of Education, Gender, Race, Language
 
Thomas Gieryn
Phone: 812-855-2569
gieryn@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Rudy Professor. Ph.D., Columbia University, 1979.
Place, Science, Culture
 
Timothy Hallett
Phone: 812-856-1426
hallett9@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita   Website
Associate Professor. Ph.D., Northwestern University, 2003.
Inhabited Institutionalism, Social Psychology, Organizations, Culture, Theory, Ethnography
 
Andrew Halpern-Manners
Phone: 812-855-3988
ahm@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Assistant Professor. Ph.D. University of Minnesota, 2013.
Social Demography, Sociology of Education, Stratification, Survey Methods
 
Pamela Braboy Jackson
Phone: 812-855-2540
pjackson@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita   Website
Professor. Ph.D., Indiana University, 1993.
Social Psychology, Medical Sociology, Mental Health, Race and Ethnic Relations
 
Jennifer C. Lee
Phone: 812-856-2522
lee484@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch
Associate Professor. Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2007.
Sociology of Education, Stratification and Asian American Studies
 
J. Scott Long
Phone: 812-855-7617
jslong@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita   Website
Distinguished Professor. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1977.
Sociology of Science, Research Methods, Statistics, Health & Aging
 
Jane McLeod
Phone: 812-856-4583
jmcleod@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Professor. Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1987.
Mental Health, Medical Sociology, Social Psychology, Stratification, Life Course
 
Patricia McManus
Phone: 812-855- 8970
pmcmanus@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Associate Professor. Duke University, 1996.
Stratification and Mobility, Entrepreneurship, Work, Welfare State, Quantitative Methods
 
Ethan Michelson
Phone: 812-856-1521
emichels@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Website
Associate Professor. Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2003.
China, Law and Society, Work and Occupations, Development
 
Dina Okamoto
Phone: 812-855-1547
dokamoto@indiana.edu   Vita   Website
Associate Professor, Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2001
Race/Ethnicity, Immigration, Collective Behavior/Social Movements, Inequality
 
Eliza Pavalko
Phone: 812-855-7629
epavalko@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Allen D. and Polly S. Grimshaw Professor. Ph.D., Florida State University, 1987.
Aging and the Life Course, Medical Sociology, Family and Work
 
Brea Perry
Phone: 812-856-0447
blperry@indiana.edu
Associate Professor.
 
Bernice A. Pescosolido
Phone: 812-855-3841
pescosol@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Distinguished Professor. Ph.D., Yale University, 1982.
Medical Sociology, Suicide, Social Networks, Mental Health/Illness
 
Brian Powell
Phone: 812-855- 7624
powell@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
James H. Rudy Professor and Department Chair. Ph.D., Emory University, 1984.
Sociology of Family, Sociology of Education, Gender, Social Psychology
 
Robert Robinson
Phone: 812-855-3987
robinsor@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Chancellor's Professor. Ph.D., Yale University, 1979.
Sociology of Religion, Inequality, Political Sociology, Historical/Comparative Sociology
 
Fabio Rojas
Phone: 812-856-1491
frojas@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita   Website
Associate Professor. Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2003.
Organizational Analysis, Political Sociology of Social Movements, Sociology of Education, Mathematical Sociology
 
Cate Taylor
Phone:
cattaylo@indiana.edu  Vita   Website
Assistant Professor. Ph.D., Cornell University, 2010.
Gender, Social Inequality, Social Psychology, Health, Work and Occupations, Experimental Methods, Collection of Biomarkers of Stress, Organizational Diversity
 
Peggy A. Thoits
Phone: 812-856-2243
pthoits@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Virginia L. Roberts Professor. Ph.D., Stanford University, 1978.
Social Psychology, Sociology of Mental Health and Mental Illness, Sociology of Emotions, Self and Identity, Stress and Coping
 
Christine M. Von Der Haar
Phone: 812-856-4198
cmvonder@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Website
Senior Lecturer. Ph.D., Indiana University, 1985.
Social Psychology, Media and Society, Public Opinion.
 
Pamela B. Walters
Phone: 812-855- 6969
walters@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Rudy Professor. Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University, 1984.
Sociology of Education, Stratification/Inequality, Comparative/Historical Sociology
 
Martin S. Weinberg
Phone: 812-855- 7208
weinberm@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Vita
Professor. Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1965.
Human Sexuality, The Body, Interpretative Sociology, Deviance
 
David Zaret
Phone: 812-855- 2074
zaret@indiana.edu   Biographical Sketch   Website
Professor. D.Phil., Oxford University, 1977.
Historical Sociology, Social History, Social Theory