The Golden Age of Paris: 1850-1900

Overseas Studies 2018

PreClass Assignment

 

Culture and Politics In Late 19th Century Paris

Day 1: Monday, May 14 -- Arrival and Orientation

Day 2: Tuesday, May 15 -- Paris: Ancient, Medieval and Early Modern

Day 3: Wednesday, May 16 -- Conservatism in Arts and Empire

Day 4: Thursday, May 17 -- Impressionist and Post Impressionist Revolt

Day 5: Friday, May 18 -- Field Trip to Giverny

Day 6: Saturday, May 19-- The Context of Cultural Revolution -- Romantic, Realist, Dealer, and Bohemian

 

Napoleon III and Empress Eugenie (1864)

 

Building of the Eifel Tower (1889)

 

Transformations of Parisian Culture and Society

Day 7: Monday, May 21 -- Haussmann and the Creation of Modern Paris

Day 8: Tuesday, May 22 -- The End of Empire: Defeat, Siege, the Commune

Day 9: Wednesday, May 23 --The Creation of a Consumer Culture

Day 10: Thursday, May 24 -- Sex and Gender in the Belle Époque

Friday, May 25 -- Sunday, May 27 -- Weekend free for individual exploration of Paris or weekend trips outside the city

Day 11: Monday, May 28 -- A World of Leisure

 

New Stresses in Parisian Culture

Day 12: Tuesday, May 29 -- The World of Montmartre

Day 13: Wednesday, May 30 -- Modernism and Decadence

Day 14: Thursday, May 31-- Science, Progress, Colonialism, and Racism

Day 15 : Friday, June 1 -- The Culture Wars of Late 19th Century Paris

Saturday, June 2 -- Departure

 

Poster for the Chat Noir Cabaret