Print Page
Email Page

About Us

Our Mission

The mission of the Office of Research Administration (ORA) is to provide exceptional support for IU's research community in order to catalyze research productivity and protect the institution and its research community from risk.

ORA accomplishes this mission by minimizing the impediments to research activity, promoting research conduct that meets the highest standards of ethical integrity, and ensuring that research activity is compliant with all local, state, and federal regulations.

Our Organization

The Office of Research Administration provides IU's research community with the following services:

Research Ethics, Education and Policy

  • Responsible Conduct of Research Education
  • Research Policy Coordination
  • Compliance Education

Sponsored Project Administration Services

  • Grants and Contracts Support Services
  • Sponsored Project Cash Management
  • Sponsored Project Compliance Oversight
  • Sponsored Project Analysis and Reporting

Compliance Services

  • Human Subject Protections
  • Animal Use Compliance
  • Radiation Safety
  • Institutional Biosafety Committee
  • Chemical Safety
  • Clinical Trials Contracting
  • Clinical Research Billing Compliance
  • Radiation Safety
  • Export Control Compliance
  • Research Conflict of Interest

Research Administration Systems and Decision Support*

  • MyRA – My Research Administration
  • Kuali Coeus
  • Data and Reports
  • Internal/Homegrown Systems

*OVPRA works in a collaborative partnership with UITS to provide these services to the
  IU research community.

Senior Leadership

Dr. Jorge José - Vice President for Research
Steven A. Martin - Associate Vice President for Research Administration
John W. Talbott - Assistant Vice President for Research Administration, IUPUI
James Becker - Executive Director of Grants Administration
James Engel - Director, Grants Administration & Finance
John Baumann - Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance
Lora O'Connor - Executive Director of Research Administration Systems and Decision Support
Eric Swank - Executive Director of Research Compliance
Shelley Bizila - Clinical Research Compliance Officer

Advisory Committees

Compliance Committees

  • Institutional Review Board (IRB)
  • Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
  • Institutional Bio-Safety Committee (IBC)
  • Conflict of Interest Committee
  • Research Misconduct
  • Radiation Safety Committee