Faculty

Adjunct Faculty Page

Julie Auger

jauger@indiana.edu

Associate Professor of Linguistics and French. Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1994. Sociolinguistics, French linguistics, variation theory, morphosyntax.

Assistant Professor of Linguistics. Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 2009. Phonology, the lexicon, and the connections between them; Modeling variable and categorical effects in the lexicon; acquisition of grammatical trends by humans and machines.

Michael Becker

mxbecker@indiana.edu

Kelly Berkson

kberkson@indiana.edu
Visiting Lecturer. Ph.D. University of Kansas, 2013. Acoustic Phonetics; Phonology; Phonetics-phonology interface; Language endangerment and revitalization; Indigenous languages of North America; Indic languages.

Chair and Professor of Linguistics. Member of African Studies Program faculty. Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1981. African languages, Bantu, tense/aspect/modality systems, morphology, comparative linguistics, lexical semantics of verbs.

Robert Botne

botner@indiana.edu

Joseph C. Clements

clements@indiana.edu
Professor of Linguistics and of Spanish and Portuguese. Ph.D., University of Washington, 1985. Morphosyntax, Spanish linguistics, contact linguistics, sociolinguistics, pidgins and creoles.

Professor of Linguistics. Associate Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Arizona 1985. Phonology, Semitic linguistics, African-American English, general linguistics.

Stuart Davis

davis@indiana.edu

Kenneth de Jong

kdejong@indiana.edu

Linguistic Speech Lab Project on Cross-language Perception and Syllabification

IU Phonetics Lab
Professor of Linguistics. Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., Ohio State University, 1991. Phonetics, phonology, experimental approaches to language description and language acquisition.

Associate Professor of Linguistics. Ph.D., The Ohio State University, 2005. Computational linguistics, corpus annotation and linguistic knowledge, data-driven natural language processing, intelligent computer-aided language learning.

Markus Dickinson

md7@indiana.edu

Computational Linguistics Program

Steven Franks

franks@indiana.edu
Professor of Linguistics and Slavic Languages and Literatures. Adjunct Professor of Speech & Hearing Sciences. Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty and Member of the Russian and East European Institute. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1985. Slavic linguistics, syntactic theory.

Lecturer in Linguistics. Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1987. Historical linguistics (language change and variation), morphology and its neighbors (phonology and morphosyntax), history of linguistics, Germanic and Romance linguistics, language and music, linguistic pedagogy.

Richard Janda

rjanda@indiana.edu

Yoshihisa Kitagawa

kitagawa@indiana.edu
Professor of Linguistics. Associate Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 1986. Syntactic theory, comparative syntax, syntax-semantics interface, morphology-syntax interaction, Japanese linguistics, linguistic theory and music theory.

Associate Professor of Linguistics. PhD., University of Tübingen, 2003. Computational Linguistics, computational corpus linguistics, machine learning techniques in computational linguistics, natural language processing.

Sandra Kübler

skuebler@indiana.edu

Computational Linguistics Program

Samuel Gyasi Obeng

sobeng@indiana.edu
Professor of Linguistics
Member of African Studies Program & International Studies Program Faculty
Adjunct Professor of African American and African Diaspora Studies.
Ph.D., University of York (UK), 1988. African Languages (especially endangered languages), Political Discourse Analysis, The Politics About Languages in Africa, Multilingualism and Language Contact, Pragmatics of Prosody, Ethnopragmatics.

Clinical Professor, African Language Coordinator. Ph.D., Indiana University, 1992. Second Language Acquisition, Kiswahili Pragmatics, Web based material development, African Language programming and development, Study Abroad.

Alwiya S. Omar

aomar@indiana.edu

Frances Trix

ftrix@indiana.edu
Professor of Linguistics and Anthropology. Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1988. Anthropological linguistics, discourse analysis, socio-linguistics, history of linguistic anthropology.

Associate Professor of Linguistics and French and Italian. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1989. Diachronic and synchronic generative syntax, French linguistics, historical linguistics.

Barbara S. Vance

bvance@indiana.edu







Emeriti Faculty

Daniel A. Dinnsen

dinnsen@indiana.edu
Chancellor's Professor of Linguistics and Adjunct Professor of Speech & Hearing Sciences. Associate Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Texas, 1972. Phonological theory, phonological acquisition, speech disorders, and language and law.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Linguistics. Adjunct Professor of Anthropology and of Law. Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1967; J.D, Indiana University, 2003. Member of the Indiana Bar. African languages, Chadic, Hausa, historical linguistics, linguistic fieldwork, field methods, language and law, copyright, First Amendment law.

Paul Newman

pnxxpn@indiana.edu


Robert F. Port

port@indiana.edu

IU Phonetics Lab
Professor Emeritus of Linguistics, Cognitive Science, and Computer Science. Member of African Studies Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Connecticut, 1976. Phonetics, speech production and perception, Swahili, dynamical models of cognition.

Rudy Professor Emeritus of Linguistics and French and Italian. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1960. French linguistics, applied linguistics, pidgins and creoles, second language acquisition.

Albert Valdman

valdman@indiana.edu