American Foundation for Gender and
Genital Medicine and Science (AFGAGMAS)

AFGAGMAS is a small tax-exempt, nonprofit foundation incorporated in the State of Maryland. It sponsors a $1000 book award presented at the biennial World Congress of Sexology of the World Association of Sexology (WAS). The Award recognizes an outstanding single-authored contribution to sexological scholarship. The next World Congress will be held in Valencia, Spain, June 1997. Books published in the preceding two years are eligible for submission by either authors or their publishers. Inquiries should be addressed to:

AFGAGMAS c/o Dr. John Money
1235 E. Monument St., Suite LL 20
Baltimore, MD 21202-5327 USA

Winners of the AFGAGMAS Book Award

Joannides, Paul. The Guide to Getting it on!: America's Coolest & Most Informative Book About Sex for Adults of All Ages. (West Hollywood, CA: Goofy Foot Press, 1999).

Chapkis, Wendy. Live Sex Acts: Women Performing Erotic Labor. (New York: Routledge, 1997).

Robie H. Harris and Michael Emberley (Illus.). It's Perfectly Normal: Growing Up, Changing Bodies, Sex and Sexual Health (Candlewick Press, 1994).

Richard Green. Sexual Science and the Law (Harvard University Press, 1992).

Richard Posner. Sex and Reason (Harvard University Press, 1992).

Hanny Lightfoot-Klein. Prisoners of Ritual: An Odyssey into Female Circumcision in Africa (Haworth Press, 1989).

Ferrel M. Christensen. Pornography: The Other Side (Praeger, 1990).

Raymond J. Lawrence. The Poisoning of Eros: Sexual Values in Conflict (Augustine Moore Press, 1989).

Hubert Kennedy. Ulrichs: The Life and Works of Karl Ulrichs, Pioneer of the Modern Gay Movement (Alyson Publishers, 1988).

Walter L. Williams. The Spirit and the Flesh: Sexual Diversity in American Indian Culture (Beacon Press, 1986).

John Money, Ph.D.

Return to Professional Organizations
Return to Other Resources for Sexology.