IU Relief
Skip Navigation
Indiana University Bloomington
News and Results
Indiana University Debate
Past News and Results

2013-2014 Results Sheet

Click on names for pictures of the event.

For past news and results click here

Wayne State Trophy Vandy TrophyHIT 2014 awards

POLICY DEBATE Tournament Records Outrounds Speaker Awards Wins Over Opponents

Georgia State

Sept 21-23

Smale/Peculis (3-5)

Murphy/Patel (3-5)

Hoffman/Ferguson (2-6)

    Louisville, Georgetown, Georgia, Florida, Emory, KCKCC, and Clarion, Houston.

Wayne State

Sept 27-29

Galbreath/Pilgrim (4-4) (W) Finals JV Pilgrim 1st JV Clarion, Augustana, Wayne State

Univ. Kentucky

Oct 5-7

Murphy/Patel (4-4)

Peculis/Smale (3-5)

Ferguson/Hoffman (1-7)

    James Madison, UT Dallas, Oklahoma, MSU, Georgia State, Binghamton, Lakeland, Central Florida


Nov 1-3

Murphy/Patel (3-3)

Ferguson/Hoffman (3-3)

Smale/Peculis (1-1)*

Novices (1-17) [click for team pics!]

*Smale digitally debated with Peculis while at home in Indiana. Due to illness, Peculis had to debate maverick rounds 3-6, making him ineligible for wins.


Emory DK (AFF) v IU FH (NEG) Loss ( 3-0).

  Emory, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Samford, Wake Forest

Wake Forest/Mountaineer Classic

Nov 16-18

Smale/Peculis (4-4)*

Murphy/Patel (3-5)

Ferguson/Hoffman (3-3)**

Sublette/Chaltraw (1-5)***

*First breakround at a major

**Just missed on speaks

***Second novice tournament!

    Augustana, Arizona State, Gonzaga, James Madison, Kansas U, Cornell, Clarion, Mercer, U Cent. Oklahoma, Southern California, Wyoming  

Ferguson-Hoffman (3-4)

Murphy-Carley (3-4)

Peculis-Smale (3-4)

    Texas, MoState, Augustana, Georgia State, Wyoming, Houston
North Texas

Peculis-Smale (4-3)

Ferguson-Hoffman (3-4)

Murphy-Rabbitt (3-4)

IU PS (AFF) vs. Kansas BM (0-3) Jason Russell, Dan Stout, Richard Tews   Wash U, Kansas, K-State, Texas, North Texas, Trinity, JCCC, KCKCC.
Hoosier Invite (Indiana)

Hoffman-Ferguson (4-3)

Smale-Peculis (3-4)

Murphy- Patel (2-5)

JV - Pilgrim-Galbreath (5-1)

Novice - Gomez-Tock (1-4)

IU HF (NEG) vs MSU (AFF) (0-3) Casey Kelly, Brad Meloche, Kelly Young


8th Open

Michigan State, Minnesota, Louisville, Michigan, Wayne, Lakeland College.

2010-2011 News

Sept. 9, 2010 IDS welcomes Indiana Debate back

"In 1994, the team lost support, but a steering committee that included John Graham, dean of the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, recently brought it back. The program now calls the School of Public and Environmental Affairs home.

Debate goes way back in my life. I was a debater in high school and also college,” Graham said. “It really influenced me, and I hope that it will also influence others."

Oct 18, 2010 IU Debate Team Helps with IN-09 Congressional Debate!

News Links: Herald Times, IDS


Image Courtesy of IDS Marx Felix

2010-2011 Results


Tournaments Swing 1 Highlights Swing 2 Highlights Speaker Awards Extra Information
W. Kentucky 5th Place Morgan-Thinath N/A Luke Morgan 9th Speaker  

Open Outrounds: Taiwo-Orizondo & Baradaran-Zeese

JV Semis: Tian-Yang

Open Octas: TO & BZ

JV Semis: Cherney-Geairn

Open: Baradaran 17th

JV: Geairn 4th & Cherney 9th

4th Place (16 teams)
Colorado College Open Outrounds: Cherney-Taiwo & Orizondo-Owens


Defeated Teams from Wheaton, CU-Boulder, and Lewis & Clark

Washburn Doubles: Orizondo-Owens     Defeated 17th team in the country, Wyo ES
NAU/GSL Doubles: Cherney-Taiwo Doubles: Cherney-Taiwo   10 total victories over UCLA, Whitman, Northern Arizona, Nevada, Univ of Utah, Concordia-Irvine, CSU-LA.


Suresh-Owens Semifinals     Owens-Cherney Debate Japanese Travelling debate team. IU was victorious according to an audience debate.

Mile High

      As an individual team Indiana CT is ranked 80th of 640 teams ranked this year.


Cherney-Taiwo 4-4 with breakround loss      


JV Semifinals: Taiwo-Swing Syed-Parroco First IU Hosted Tournament   Michigan wins the Hoosier invitational
Iowa JV/Novice: Taiwo Wins First Policy Tournament with Minnesota Swing Partner Syed-Parroco Semifinals losing to IU-Minn Swing Team Taiwo First Speaker  
UGA Parroco and Shah finished in the middle of the pack with their accumulated speaker points. A good showing for a Freshmen team      
Kentucky     Nov: Parroco 4th Speaker  
Arizona State        


Policy Debate's Return! 2010 A. Craig Baird Invitational at Iowa December 4th-6th

Hawkeye symbol

Hoosier policy debate will attend their first tournament in Iowa against foes representing multiple confrences, including the Big 10. IU policy debaters have spent their fall semester rigurously building a collection of arguments to prepare for future deliberative battelfields. The 2010-2011 college policy topic asks the question of whether the United States should increase the number of American immigration visas. The topic was released at the end of the month of July. College debate teams from around the nation have scoured the libraries stacks and digital databases to predict and write every possible argument. Like a football coach drawing plays on the white board, coaches and debaters engage in thought experiments to produce the best strategic methods for debating either side of the immigration visa debate. Playing catch up this year, IU is now ready to engage our competitors as we begin our season. After Iowa multiple major tournaments have been scheduled at the University of Kentucky, Georgia University, until the season's end at The University of North Texas i mid-march. Indiana will also host their first college tournament in nearly two decades in mid-February. These are exciting times to be a hoosier.




Indiana University

Brian DeLong SPEA #323 1315 E. Tenth Street Bloomington, IN 47405-1701
Phone: (812) 856-7585

Last updated: 12 November 2014
Comments: brdelong@indiana.edu