The Dr. Charlie Nelms Alumni Award
Deadline for nominations is 5:00 p.m. on Monday, June 10, 2013
Please send nominations to Roberta Radovich at

Charlie Nelms is a proud alumnus of Indiana University. He earned his master's degree in higher education and student affairs as well as a doctorate in higher education administration from Indiana University. He served as Chancellor of Indiana University East from 1987 to 1994, and Chancellor of the University of Michigan at Flint from 1994-1998. He returned to his alma mater in 1998 as Vice President for Institutional Development and Student Affairs. The range of his service to IU extends from institutional research and effectiveness to academic support services; from expanding K-12 outreach initiatives to enhancing diversity, access, and excellence. As an active member of professional, civic, and higher-education organizations, Nelms' dedication is apparent in the roles he has played on the National Advisory Board of the National Survey of Student Engagement and the American Council on Education's Commission for Leadership Development. His current board memberships include The American Association of State Colleges and Universities and The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation. In 2007, Charlie Nelms was named the 10th Chancellor of North Carolina Central University, Durham, North Carolina.

This award has been created in recognition of Nelms' stalwart pursuit to bridge the gaps in all areas of life for disenfranchised and underserved people. An award recipient is one who has continued to exemplify the mission of Indiana University, as demonstrated in their career tenure, or in the long-term impact of their community engagement. In short, an award recipient is dedicated to work that supports positive change in his/her workplace or community. The individual nominated must possess a track record of success and be recognized by their colleagues as a leader in their respective profession or community.

Past award recipients include Karen White, associate vice chancellor for Student Services at Indiana University South Bend, Joyce Q. Rogers Esq., former president & CEO of Indiana Black Expo; Vernon G. Smith, Indiana State Representative and chair of the Indiana Black Legislative Caucus; Dennis E. Bland, president of the Center for Leadership Development; and Shontrai Irving Esq., State Farm litigation counsel. While our expectation is that the honoree be present, the award recipient does not need to be present to win as there may be factors beyond their control that prohibit their attendance such as health concerns or travel considerations. A designee may receive the award on behalf of the recipient.

Eligibility - Persons recommended for the Charlie Nelms Alumni Award must be a graduate of Indiana University. "Graduate" is defined as having been conferred an associate, undergraduate, graduate, or professional degree from any campus under the auspices of Indiana University.

Nomination Guidelines

Professional Accomplishments - Describe how your candidate has achieved outstanding success and what impact this achievement has had on your organization. In your response, please consider how your nominee displayed leadership and vision. Additionally, please highlight any significant involvement in professional organizations which demonstrate initiative, effort and a spirit of teamwork on the part of your nominee.

Community Contributions - Please summarize your nominee's community activities. From that list, identify one or two activities that characterize the community spirit, determination, and leadership of your nominee. Explain how the nominee's involvement in these activities has impacted the organization and the community at-large.

Determination of the award will be based on an outstanding or exceptional contribution to Indiana University, underrepresented youth, youth programs, and/or their community. Examples include promoting and playing an active role in existing IU programs, developing programs that help youth to excel in higher education, speaking at various venues, and seeking funding for diversity programs at Indiana University and/or their community.