Indiana University

See Also

Alumni News and Information

Recent Publications and Submissions by Geological Sciences faculty and scientists.

Recent Grants by Geological Sciences faculty and scientists.

Information for Prospective Students

People:

A directory of faculty, researchers, scientists, students and staff in Geological Sciences at IU. Here’s a link to the Directory in a PDF file.

Faculty by program

Atmospheric Sciences

Atmospheric sciences and sustainability, Atmospheric chemistry and micrometeorology, Physical climatology/climate change and variability, Boundary–layer dynamics:
Dong, Hornsby, Kirkpatrick, Staten, Kieu

Biogeochemistry

Isotopic, molecular and organic geochemistry, astrobiology
Brassell
, Elswick, Mastalerz, Pratt, Ripley, Sauer, Schieber, Schimmelmann, Wasylenki, White, Young, Zhu

Economic Geology

Mineral, water and fossil fuel resources
Bish, Brophy, Li, Mastalerz Ripley

See Also

Overview of Research Topics in Geological Sciences

Geobiology, Geoanthropology, Geoarchaeology

Paleontology, paleoecology, paleoclimatology
Brassell, Elswick, Herrmann, C. Johnson, Motz, Njau, Polly, Pratt

Geophysics, Structural Geology and Tectonics

Seismology, geodesy, regional orogenic processes, rock mechanics
Douglas, Dunning , Fosdick, Hamburger, K.Johnson, Pavlis, Wintsch

Hydrogeology & Environmental Geosciences

Physical & chemical hydrology, modeling, paleoclimatology
Craft, Edmonds, Letsinger, Olyphant, Prentice, Wasylenki, Zhu

Mineralogy & Clay Mineralogy

Rock and mineral analysis, volcanology
Basu, Bish, Brophy, Li, Ripley, Schieber, Wintsch, Zhu

Sedimentation & Stratigraphy

Physical & chemical sedimentation, Earth history
Basu, Brassell, Edmonds, Fosdick, Herrmann, C. Johnson, Polly , Pratt, Schieber, Wintsch

GeoScience Education

Learning, teaching and knowing in the Geological Sciences
Maltese

Faculty and Scientists’ research profiles

Abhijit Basu »

Provenance of siliciclastic sediments in terrestrial planetary bodies.

Herman B Wells Professor
office: GY521
phone: 812-855-6654
email: basu@indiana.edu

David Bish »

Surface properties, crystallography and geochemistry of clay minerals. Applications of clay and zeolite minerals and interactions with organic pollutants. Rheology of clay suspensions.

Haydn Murray Chair of Applied Clay Mineralogy
office: GY209
phone: 812-855-2039
email: bish@indiana.edu

Simon C. Brassell »

Molecular and isotopic characteristics of organic matter. Biogeochemical processes. Paleoclimates. Biochemical evolution. Petroleum Carbon cycling.

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: MSBII 404
phone: 812-855-3786
email: simon@indiana.edu

James G. Brophy »

Chemical and physical processes of magmatic crystallization and differentiation. Origin and geochemistry of layered intrusions and lavas. Experimental petrology.

Professor of Geological Sciences and Director of Undergraduate Studies
office: GY309
phone: 812-855-6417
email: brophy@indiana.edu

Christopher Craft »

Terrestrial and wetland ecosystem restoration, wetlands ecology, soil resources, biogeochemistry, nutrient cycling and carbon sequestration of soils and sediments

Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs
Adjunct Faculty: Department of Geological Sciences
office: MSBII 408
phone: 812-855-5971
email: ccraft@indiana.edu
website: http://www.iu.edu/~speaweb/faculty/craft.php

Bruce Douglas »

Brittle and ductile deformation mechanisms. Fault development and deformation mechanisms. Mantle rheology. Geometry of Fold and Thrust Belts.

Senior Lecturer and Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies
office: GY421
phone: 812-855-3848
email: douglasb@indiana.edu

Jeremy Dunning »

Structural Geology, Rock Mechanics, and Geoinformatics.

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY121
phone: 856-4448
email: dunning@indiana.edu

Douglas Edmonds »

Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, and Geomorphology of Depositional Sedimentary Systems.

Robert R. Schrock Professorship in Sedimentary Geology
Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY425
phone: 855-4512
email: edmondsd@indiana.edu
research website: Sed Systems Research

Erika Elswick »

Stable isotopes in sedimentary environments and ore deposits. Metals in the environment. Tropical soils. Low temperature hydrothermal rock–water interactions. Microbial activity.

Assistant Scientist
office: MSBII 428
phone: 812-855-2493
email: eelswick@indiana.edu

Julie C. Fosdick »

Tectonics, thermochronology, and sedimentary basin analysis

Assistant Professor
office: GY 405
phone: 855-6109
email: jfosdick@indiana.edu
research website: Julie C Fosdick

Michael W. Hamburger »

Seismotectonics. Volcanology. Interplate deformation. Earth Science Education.

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY415
phone: 812-855-2934
email: hamburg@indiana.edu

Edward Herrmann »

Geoarchaeology, sedimentation and stratigraphy, deposition and geomorphology in fluvial systems.

Research Scientist
office: GY 417
phone: 856-0587
email: edherrma@indiana.edu

Claudia C. Johnson »

Geobiology. Caribbean geology. Reefs. Evolution of rudistid bivalves. Paleoclimate.

Associate Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY501
phone: 812-855-0646
email: claudia@indiana.edu

Kaj Johnson »

Active deformation of the crust. Earthquakes. Earthquake cycle deformation. Fault friction. Mechanical modeling.

Judson Mead Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY401
phone: 812-855-3612
email: kajjohns@indiana.edu
research website: please visit my Personal Web Page

Cody Kirkpatrick »

Atmospheric hazards, numerical weather prediction, climatology of severe weather

Visiting Assistant Professor
office: MSBII 304
phone: 812-855-3481
email: codykirk@indiana.edu

Sally Letsinger »

Hydrogeology, Geographic Information Systems, and Remote Sensing

Research Hydrologist, Indiana Geological Survey
Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences
office: S427
phone: 812-855-1356
email: sletsing@indiana.edu

Chusi Li »

Petrogenesis and tectonic settings of mafic and ultramafic rocks.

Senior Scientist
office: GY217
phone: 812-855-5404
email: cli@indiana.edu

Adam V. Maltese »

GeoScience Education: Learning, teaching and knowing in the Geological Sciences

Assistant Professor of Science Education
Adjunct Faculty Geological Sciences
office: Wright (Education) 3054
phone: 812-856-8059
email: amaltese@indiana.edu

Maria Mastalerz »

Coal geology. Petrology and chemistry of coal, kerogen and bitumen. Coalbed methane and carbon dioxide adsorption. Stable isotopes. Properties of coal combustion products.

Research Scientist/Coal Geologist, Indiana Geological Survey
Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences
office: S225
phone: 812-855-9416
email: mmastale@indiana.edu

Jackson Njau »

Paleoanthropology, Paleontology. Early hominid evolution and environments in Olduvai Gorge and other areas in East Africa

Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY513
phone: 812-856-3170
email: jknjau@indiana.edu

Gary L. Pavlis »

Seismic imaging by wavefield methods and tomography. Inverse methods. Geophysical data processing. Tectonics of convergent plate margins. Seismicity of the mid-continent.

Professor of Geological Sciences, Director of Graduate Studies
office: GY409
phone: 812-855-5141
email: pavlis@indiana.edu; Graduate Admission Information:: geodgs@indiana.edu

P. David Polly »

Vetebrate Paleontology

Associate Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY524A
phone: 812-855-7994
email: pdpolly@indiana.edu
research website: Polly Lab Website

Lisa M. Pratt »

Geomicrobiology of extremophiles. Biotic and abiotic fractionation of S isotopes. Life- detection probes for deployment in Mars subsurface. Cretaceous C isotope excursions.

Professor of Geological Sciences and Chair, Department of Geological Sciences
office: MSBII 416
phone: 812-855-9203
email: prattl@indiana.edu
research website: GETGAMM

Michael Prentice »

Hydrogeology, paleoclimatology

Glacial Geologist, Indiana Geological Survey
Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences
phone: 856-3117
email: mlprenti@indiana.edu

Edward M. Ripley »

Genesis of metallic ore deposits. Applications of stable isotopic geochemistry in petrology. Igneous and hydrothermal processes on metals. Thermodynamic/kinetic modeling.

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY329
phone: 812-855-1196
email: ripley@indiana.edu

Peter E. Sauer »

Stable isotopes (C, N, H, O). Paleoclimatic records from sediments, tree-rings, and soils. Transformations of organic matter during diagenesis and maturation of oil and coal.

Assistant Scientist
office: MSBII 410
phone: 812-855-6591
email: pesauer@indiana.edu

Juergen Schieber »

Early diagenetic mineral formation in shales. Preservation of microbes in mudstones. Provenance of quartz in mudstones.

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY523
phone: 812-855-5322
email: jschiebe@indiana.edu

Arndt Schimmelmann »

Stable isotopes in fossil fuels, Stable isotopes in biomass, Paleoclimatology of laminated sediments.

Senior Scientist
office: GY321
phone: 812-855-7645
email: aschimme@indiana.edu
research website: Schimmelmann Research

Paul Staten »

Atmospheric dynamics, climate–cloud interactions, remote instrumentation, and climate change.

Visiting Scholar
office: MSBII 302
phone: 812-856-5135
email: pwstaten@indiana.edu

Laura Wasylenki »

Metal Isotope Geochemistry.

Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
office: MSBII 420
phone: 812-855-7508
email: lauraw@indiana.edu
research website: Sesame Lab

Jeffrey R. White »

Biogeochemistry, Aquatic chemistry, Chemical limnology.

Professor of Environmental Sciences, SPEA
Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences
office: MSBII 412
phone: 812-855-0731
email: whitej@indiana.edu

Robert P. Wintsch »

Metamorphic Petrology, Structural Petrology, Tectonics, Geochronology

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: GY325
phone: 812-855-4018
email: wintsch@indiana.edu

Chen Zhu »

Geochemistry and isotopes. Thermodynamics and kinetics of chemical reactions. Carbon sequestration. Geochemical modeling.

Professor of Geological Sciences
office: MSBII 424
phone: 812-856-1884
email: chenzhu@indiana.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Robert Blakely

Geophysics

email: blakely@indiana.edu

David L. Dilcher

Geobiology

office: S209
phone: 812-856-0618
email: dilcher@indiana.edu

J. Robert Dodd

Geobiology

office: GY525
phone: 812-855-4957
email: dodd@indiana.edu

John Droste

Sed/Strat

email: droste@indiana.edu

Donald Hattin

Sed/Strat

office: GY519
phone: 812-855-8232
email: hattin@indiana.edu

Henk Haitjema

Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences

office: SPEA439
phone: 812-855-0563
email: haitjema@indiana.edu

Erle Kauffman

Geobiology

office: GY517
phone: 812-855-5154
email: kauffman@indiana.edu

Brian D. Keith

Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences

office: S117
phone: 812-855-4213
email: keithb@indiana.edu

Enrique Merino

Geochemistry

office: GY527
phone: 812-855-5088
email: merino@indiana.edu

Haydn H. Murray

Mineralogy

office: GY117
phone: 812-855-5583
email: murrayh@indiana.edu

Greg A. Olyphant

Ecohydrology. Vadose zone dynamics. Watersheds and fluvial systems

office: GY429
phone: 812-855-1351
email: olyphant@indiana.edu

Lee J. Suttner

Sed/Strat

office: GY525
phone: 812-855-4957
email: suttner@indiana.edu

Visiting Lecturers and Scientists

Bill Monaghan

Adjunct Faculty: Geoarchaeology

office: S327
phone: 812-856-3542
emil: gmonagha@indiana.edu

Brian D. Keith

Adjunct Faculty: Geological Sciences

office: S117
phone: 812-855-4213
email: keithb@indiana.edu

Research Associates and Post-Doctoral Fellows

Shuofei Dong

Metal Isotope Geochemistry

Post Doctoral Research Fellow
office: MSBII 422
phone: 812-855-8486
email: shuodong@indiana.edu

Karen Hornsby

Atmospheric Sciences

Post Doctoral Research Fellow
office: MSBII 330
phone: 812-856-8128
email: hornsbyk@indiana.edu

Alice Hui

Sesame Lab Laboratory Manager

Research Associate
office: MSBII 001A
phone: 812-856-1556
email: akhui@indiana.edu

Gary Motz

CBRC Project Coordinator/Paleontology
Center for Biological Research Collections

Research Associate
office: GY323
phone: TBA
email: garymotz@indiana.edu

Yongbo Peng

Biogeochemistry

Post Doctoral Research Fellow
office: MSBII 400
phone: 812-855-8034
email: yopeng@indiana.edu
webpage: https://sites.google.com/site/yongbopeng/