Skip to: search, navigation, or content.

Indiana University

Support the Center


Qindan (Dani) Nie

Qindan (Dani) Nie

Undergraduate Student in Business and Volunteer

Qindan Nie is a Junior student, from China, majoring in Supply Chain Management and Marketing. She is an active volunteer for EASC; doing such things as leading hands-on activities in Chinese crafts at a center for individuals with developmental disabilities; giving a calligraphy performance at a local middle school for their Chinese New Year celebration; teaching children and community members Chinese at the world language table at the Lotus Blossom World Bazaar, an annual educational art event; and teaching local scouts about Chinese culture at IU’s Mathers Museum. She says, “I’m interested in the community events in Bloomington and want to explore and get more involved with the local life. That’s why I love being a volunteer.”

Society of Friends of Korean Studies

The Society of Friends of Korean Studies (SOFOKS), a private fundraising organization, is a committed union between community and higher education ensuring continued support for Korean studies and young Korean studies scholars at Indiana University.


In 1983 under the leadership of Heun Y. Yune, M.D., now Professor Emeritus of Radiology at the IU School of Medicine, a group of business professionals and IU faculty in Indianapolis formed SOFOKS to encourage the development of Korean studies at IU. Since its founding, SOFOKS members have donated more than $190,000 to support students and faculty engaged in studying Korean language and culture, providing for, among other things, an annual fellowship for graduate students and an annual Excellence in Korean Studies award for undergraduates.

In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of SOFOKS in 2008, founder Dr. Yune wrote a fable expressing the longstanding commitment between the once fledgling Korean studies program and its supporting community of SOFOKS members. Read the fable (PDF or Word), and view a timeline (PDF) of the development of Korean studies at IU.

To join the Society of Friends of Korean Studies, easc [at] indiana [dot] edu (contact us).

Make a gift to the Korean Program Fund.

2011-12 Donors:

Mr. & Mrs. William T. Jackson
Dr. & Mrs. Heun Young Yune
Mr. & Mrs. Heung Chul Moon
Dr. & Mrs. Hee-Myung Park
Dr. In Sook Seo
Mr. & Mrs. Jaeyon Lee
Dr. & Mrs. Han Won Paik
Dr. & Mrs. Young Soo Suh
Dr. & Mrs. Moo Nahm Yum
Dr. Hwi Yul Suh
Dr. & Mrs. Bong Hyun Chang
Mr. & Mrs. Dal Soo Kwon
Dr. & Mrs. Hyo Sang Lee
Mr. & Mrs. Sung Jae Park
Dr. & Mrs. Kun Hong Kim
Mr. & Mrs. JaeYun Kim
Dr. & Mrs. Robert Lee