Indiana University Bloomington
A photo collage of images. Click on the images to learn more.
Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center (IAUNRC) Sinor Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies (SRIFIAS) Center for Languages of the Central Asian Region (CeLCAR) Summer Language Workshop (SWSEEL)

Current Graduate Students :: Graduates

Students are listed upon request and updated each May. Actual enrollment for Fall 2009 is 54 M.A. and 25 Ph.D students.

Doctoral Students

Student Name
Email
Region of Specialization Language of Specialization Committee Chair Honors and Awards

Elise Anderson
andersem@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uyghur Gardner Bovingdon

View here

Christopher Baker
bakerca@indianaledu

Central Asia Kazakh William Fierman

View here

Daniel Beben
dbeben@indiana.edu

Central Asia Persian Devin DeWeese View here

Aziz Burkhanov
aziburkh@indiana.edu

Central Asia Kazakh William Fierman View here

Matthew Caples
macaples@indiana.edu

Hungarian Hungarian

Toivo Raun
Mihály Szegedy-Maszák

View here
Robert William Dunbar
rodunbar@indiana.edu
Central Asia Uzbek Ron Sela View here

Timothy Grose
tigrose@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uyghur Gardner Bovingdon

View here

Michael Hancock-Parmer
miflhanc@indiana.edu

Central Asia Kazakh Ron Sela

View here

Niko Kontovas
nikontov@indiana.edu

Iranized Turkistan Turkish Christopher Beckwith

View here

Kwang Tae Lee
leekwa@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uzbek Ron Sela View here

Bill Mankins
bmankins@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uyghur Gardner Bovingdon View here

Piper O'Sullivan
peosulli@indiana.edu

Iranian Pashto Nazif Shahrani

View here

Blake Puckett
bkpucket@indiana.edu
Central Asia Russian William Fierman View here
Kristoffer Rees
kmrees@indiana.edu
Central Asia Kazakh William Fierman View here
Andrew Shimunek
ashimune@indiana.edu
Mongolia Mongolian György Kara View here
Wei-chieh Tsai
weictsai@indiana.edu
Mongolia Mongolian Chris Atwood View here

Tenzin Tsepak
ttsepak@indiana.edu

Tibetan Tibetan Elliot Sperling View here

Nicholas Walmsley
nwalmsle@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uzbek Ron Sela

View here

Eveline Yang
esyang@indiana.edu

Tibetan Tibetan Elliot Sperling

View here

Jonathan North Washington
Search here

Central Asia Kazakh Christopher Beckwith View here

MA Students

Student Name
Email
Region of Specialization Language of Specialization Advisor Honors and Awards

Cody Behles
cbehles@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uzbek Edward Lazzerini  

Zeynep Elbasan-Bozdogan
zelbasan@indiana.edu

Turkish Persian Kemal Silay  
Sara Marie Conrad
conradsm@indiana.edu
Tibet Tibetan Elliot Sperling

2012-2013 Tibetan FLAS, 2012 Summer Tibetan FLAS
2011 Summer Tibetan FLAS

Alissa Davis
davisali@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uyghur William Fierman

2012-13 Uyghur FLAS, 2011 Russian Critical Language Scholarship,
2009 Russian Critical Language Scholarship

Solaiman Fazel
sfazel@indiana.edu

Iranian Persian Nazif Shahrani  
Jacob Hunter
hunter8@indiana.edu
Iran Persian Jamsheed Choksy  
Luke Menzies
lmenzies@indiana.edu
Central Asia Persian Devin DeWeese 2006-2007 Central Eurasian Studies Department Recruitment Fellowship

Mark Moll
mdmoll@indiana.edu

Baltic and Finnish Estonian Toivo Raun 2011-2012 Estonian FLAS

Elliott Newton
ellnewto@indiana.edu

Central Asia Dari William Fierman

2012-2013 Uzbek FLAS, 2012 Uzbek Summer Title VIII grant, 2011 Dari Summer Title VIII grant

Joshua Rand-Castillo
jrandcas@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uyghur Gardner Bovingdon

2010 NSEP David L. Boren Scholarship (Mandarin Chinese)

Daniel Robbins
dasrobbi@indiana.edu

Central Asia Uyghur Gardner Bovingdon 2012 Summer Uyghur FLAS, 2011 Summer Uyghur FLAS

Isaac Scarborough
iscarbor@indiana.edu

Central Asia Kazakh William Fierman

2010-2011 Fulbright Student Research Fellowships

Hosung Shim
shimho@indiana.edu

Mongolia Mongolian Chris Atwood

2011-2012 CEUS Recruitment Fellowship

Sean Singer
sesinger@indiana.edu

Turkey Turkish Kemal Silay

2011 Turkish Summer FLAS, 2011-2012 Turkish AY FLAS, 2012 Farsi Summer FLAS

David Straub
dstraub@indiana.edu
Central Asia Tajik Edward Lazzerini Summer 2008 FLAS Fellowship, Center for the Study of Global Change
Jessie Wallner
jwallner@indiana.edu
Tibet Tibetan Elliot Sperling 2008-2009: FLAS Fellowship, 2007-2008 Graduate Assistant, Sound and Video Analysis & Instruction Laboratory
2005-2007 Graduate Assistant, Archives of Traditional Music, 2004-2005 IIE Fulbright Grant

Miriam J. Woods
woodsmj@indiana.edu

Central Asia Persian Ron Sela

Summer 2012 Title VIII for Third-Year Tajiki at Arizona State University's Critical Languages Institute, 2011-2012 Uyghur FLAS, 2011 Persian Critical Language Scholarship, 2009 Title VIII for Pashto