Indiana University Bloomington
A photo collage of images. Click on the images to learn more.
Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center (IAUNRC) Sinor Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies (SRIFIAS) Center for Languages of the Central Asian Region (CeLCAR) Summer Language Workshop (SWSEEL)

Faculty

Current Faculty

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact Spring 2013 Office Hours
Atwood, Chris
Associate Professor
Mongolian studies catwood@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 157
(812) 855-2233

M 3:45-4:35
T 2:00-2:50
GB157

Beckwith, Christopher
Professor
Central Eurasian studies beckwith@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 346
(812) 855-2428
T 2:00-2:25
R 2:00-2:25 & by appointment
GB 346
Bovingdon, Gardner
Associate Professor
Central Asian studies – Xinjiang gbovingd@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 344
(812) 856-0230
T 2:30-3:30
R 9:30-10:30
GB 344
Choksy, Jamsheed
Professor
Chair
Iranian studies jchoksy@indiana.edu
Eigenmann Hall 703
(812) 855-8643

M 11:00-12:00 & by appointment
Eigenmann 703

DeWeese, Devin
Professor
Central Asian studies deweese@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 343
(812) 855-2298

W 2:30-4:00
GB 343

 
Graber, Kathryn
Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow
Central Eurasian studies

graberk@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 141
812-856-3777

M 2:30-3:30
R 1:00-2:00
GB141 & by appointment

Hooker, Lynn
Associate Professor
Hungarian studies lhooker@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 235
(812) 856-0167

M 1:00-2:00
W 10:00-11:00
GB235 & by appointment

Kara, György
Professor
Mongolian studies gkara@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 142
(812) 855-0460

R 2:45-3:45
GB 142

Lazzerini, Edward
Academic Specialist
Central Asian studies elazzeri@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 348
(812) 856-0671

Daily 11:00-12:00
GB101 & by appointment

Losensky, Paul
Associate Professor
Iranian studies plosensk@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 207
(812) 855-9665

M 1:30-3:00 GB207
W 1:30-3:00 BH917

Özçelik, Öner
Assistant Professor
Turkic and Central Asian linguistics and second language acquisition oozcelik@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 323
812-855-3759

M 12:10-1:10
Eigenmann 702 & by appointment

Raun, Toivo
Professor
Baltic-Finnish studies raunt@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 234
(812) 855-4907

T 1:30-2:30
R 1:00-2:00
GB234

Sela, Ron
Associate Professor
Central Asian studies rsela@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 141
(812) 856-7017

On leave

Shahrani, Nazif
Professor
Central Asian studies, Iranian studies shahrani@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 236
(812) 855-4858

W 1:30-3:30 & by appointment
GB236

Silay, Kemal
Professor
Turkish studies ksilay@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 220
(812) 855-5227

M 6:00-7:00pm & by appointment

Sperling, Elliot
Associate Professor
Tibetan studies sperlin@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 143
(812) 855-7344

W 12:30-1:45
GB143

Adjunct Faculty

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact
Ibold, Hans
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Journalism hibold@indiana.edu
Jatso, Arja 
Distinguished Scholar in Residence
Arjia Rinpoche, Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center tmbculturalcenter@gmail.com
3655 Snoddy Road
(812) 336-6807
Mokhtarian, Jason
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Jewish Studies & Religions Studies jmokhtar@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 307
(812) 855-8358
Nance, Richard
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Religious Studies
Office Hours: T 2:00-4:00
rfnance@indiana.edu
Sycamore 230
(812) 855-6159
Pyburn, Anne
Adjunct Professor
Professor of Anthropology apyburn@indiana.edu
Sahin, Kaya
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in History iksahin@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 814
812) 856-0309

Schlesinger, Jonathan
Adjunct Asst Professor

Assistant Professor in History joschles@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 742
812) 855-3236

Trix, Francis
Adjunct Professor

Professor of Anthropology

ftrix@indiana.edu

Emeriti Faculty

To contact any of the emeriti faculty by phone, please call (812) 855-2233.

Faculty Member Research Interests
Basgoz, Ilhan
Professor Emeritus
Bayerle, Gustav
Professor Emeritus
bayerle@indiana.edu
Sixteenth and Seventeenth Century Ottoman history; Hungarian history; and Ottoman philology
Bregel, Yuri
Professor Emeritus
bregel@indiana.edu
History of Islamic Central Asia
Fierman, William
Professor Emeritus
wfierman@indiana.edu
Politics of Central Asia, especially policies affecting language, Islam, and state identities.

Glassie, Henry
Adjunct Professor Emeritus
glassieh@indiana.edu

Folktales, songs, and material culture -- ceramics, textiles, and architecture -- of the United States, Ireland, Turkey, Bangladesh, and Japan

Szegedy-Maszák, Mihály
Professor Emeritus
szegedym@indiana.edu

 

Cultural studies, comparative literature, Interacts studies, narratology, structuralism and translation, romanticism, nationalism, modernism and postmodernism

Lecturers

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact Spring 2013 Office Hours
Daneshgar, Shahyar
Senior Lecturer
Persian, Azerbaijani Languages sdaneshg@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 301
(812) 856-0025

W 1:30-3:00
GB301

Hodjaev, Malik
John D. Soper Senior Lecturer
Uzbek Language mhodjaev@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 301
(812) 856-0025

M 1:00-2:00
W 1:00-2:00
GB301

Inomkhojayev, Rakhmonkhoja
Lecturer
Pashto Language rinomkho@indiana.edu
Eigenmann Hall 720
(812) 856-0854
W 11:10-12:10 & by appointment
Eigenmann 720
Kivik, Piibi-Kai
Lecturer
Estonian Language pkivik@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall M04
(812) 856-5064

M 12:30-1:30 & by appointment

Legden, Tserenchunt
Lecturer
Mongolian Language tlegden@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall W006
(812) 855-2099

W 12:30-2:00 & by appointment

Nazarova, Gulnisa
Lecturer
Uyghur Language gnazarov@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 304
(812) 856-2814

W 2:00-3:00 & by appointment
GB304

Rabsal, Gedun
Senior Lecturer
Tibetan Language grabsal@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall W006
(812) 855-2099

T 9:00-11:00
MM006

Taurama, Mikko
Lecturer
Finnish Language mtaurama@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 233
(812) 855-4862

W 12:15-1:30
R 12:15-1:30
GB22 & by appointment

Varga, Valeria
Lecturer
Hungarian Language vvarga@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall MM04
(812) 856-5064

R 11:00-12:00 & by appointment
MH004

Zlotin, Roman
Senior Lecturer
Geography rzlotin@indiana.edu
Weatherly Hall 110
By appointment

Librarians

Faculty Member Contact
Khabibullaev, Akram
Librarian for Middle Eastern, Islamic, and Central Eurasian Studies
akkhabib@indiana.edu
Wells Library E960
(812) 855-9885

Wen-ling Liu
Librarian for East Asian Collection and Tibetan Studies

wliu@indiana.edu
Wells Library E860
(812)855-9695

Staff

Staff Member Contact

Niggle, Karen
Assistant to the Chair
Fiscal Officer
Building Manager

kniggle@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 153
(812) 855-2398

Younger, April
Administrative Secretary
Admissions Secretary
Student Support
Scheduling Officer

ayounger@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 157
(812) 855-2233

Breeding, Jackie
CEUS Office Assistant
Faculty Support
Central Eurasian Studies Society (CESS) Administrative Assistant

jmbreedi@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 157
(812) 855-2233

Mark Moll
Graduate Assistant

mdmoll@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 147

Undergraduate Academic Support Contact
Piibi-Kai Kivik
Language Coordinator
Drop-in office hours: W 12:00-1:00

ceuslc@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall M04
(812) 856-5064

Ashcraft, Jennifer
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
T/W/R 8:00 AM-12:00 PM & 1:00-5:00 PM and by appointment

jeashcra@indiana.edu
Owen Hall 097A
(812) 855-4538

Hooker, Lynn
Director of Undergraduate Studies

lhooker@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 235
(812) 856-0167
Graduate Academic Support Contact

Hooker, Lynn
Director of Graduate Studies

lhooker@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 235
(812) 856-0167
Piibi-Kai Kivik
Language Coordinator

ceuslc@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall W001A
(812) 855-4867