Indiana University Bloomington
A photo collage of images. Click on the images to learn more.
Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center (IAUNRC) Sinor Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies (SRIFIAS) Center for Languages of the Central Asian Region (CeLCAR) Summer Language Workshop (SWSEEL)

Faculty

NOTE: Most offices are now located in the new School of Global and International Studies Buidling (GA). The CEUS main office, as well as faculty, AI's, & GA's are located in the East building (closest to the Wells Library).

Current Faculty

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact Fall 2015 Office Hours
Atwood, Chris
Associate Professor
Mongolian studies catwood@indiana.edu
GA 3035
(812) 855-4059


GA 3035

Beckwith, Christopher
Professor
Central Eurasian studies beckwith@indiana.edu
GA 3038
(812) 855-2428

GA 3038

Borhi, Laszlo
Professor

Central European History lborhi@indiana.edu
GA 3031
(812) 855-1102
GA 3031
Bovingdon, Gardner
Associate Professor
Central Asian studies – Xinjiang gbovingd@indiana.edu
GA 3025
(812) 856-0230

GA 3025
Choksy, Jamsheed
Distinguished Professor
Chair
Iranian studies jchoksy@indiana.edu
GA 3005
(812) 855-8643

GA 3005
GA 3026

DeWeese, Devin
Professor
Central Asian studies deweese@indiana.edu
GA 3030
(812) 855-2298


GA 3030

 

Golestaneh, Seema
Assistant Professor

Iranian studies sgolesta@indiana.edu
GA 3009
(812) 856-0167
GA 3009
Graber, Kathryn
Assistant Professor
Central Eurasian studies graberk@indiana.edu
Student Building 248
812-856-3777
SB 248
Kara, György
Professor
Mongolian studies gkara@indiana.edu
GA 3033
(812) 855-0460


GA 3033

Lazzerini, Edward
Academic Specialist
Central Asian studies elazzeri@indiana.edu
GA 3006
(812) 856-0671


GA 3006

Losensky, Paul
Associate Professor
Iranian studies plosensk@indiana.edu
BH 917
(812) 855-6242

BH917

Özçelik, Öner
Assistant Professor
Turkic and Central Asian linguistics and second language acquisition oozcelik@indiana.edu
GA 3019
(812) 855-3759


GA 3019

Raun, Toivo
Professor
Baltic-Finnish studies raunt@indiana.edu
GA 3039
(812) 855-4907


GB 3039

Sela, Ron
Associate Professor
Central Asian studies rsela@indiana.edu
GA 2026
(812) 856-7017


GA 2026

Shahrani, Nazif
Professor
Central Asian studies, Iranian studies shahrani@indiana.edu
GA 3036
(812) 855-4858


GB 3036

Silay, Kemal
Ottoman and Modern Turkish Studies Chair Professor

Turkish studies ksilay@indiana.edu
GA 3023
(812) 855-5227


GA 3023

Sperling, Elliot
Associate Professor
Tibetan studies sperlin@indiana.edu
GA 3014
(812) 855-7344


GA 3014

Adjunct Faculty

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact
Jatso, Arja 
Distinguished Scholar in Residence
Arjia Rinpoche, Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center tmbculturalcenter@gmail.com
3655 Snoddy Road
(812) 336-6807
Mokhtarian, Jason
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Jewish Studies & Religions Studies jmokhtar@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 307
(812) 855-8358
Nance, Richard
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Religious Studies
Office Hours: T 2:00-4:00
rfnance@indiana.edu
Sycamore 230
(812) 855-6159
Pyburn, Anne
Adjunct Professor
Professor of Anthropology apyburn@indiana.edu
Student Building 130
(812) 855-2563

Sahin, Kaya
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in History iksahin@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 814
(812) 856-0309

Schlesinger, Jonathan
Adjunct Asst Professor

Assistant Professor in History joschles@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 742
(812) 855-3236

Emeriti Faculty

Faculty Member Research Interests
Basgoz, Ilhan
Professor Emeritus
Bayerle, Gustav
Professor Emeritus
bayerle@indiana.edu
Sixteenth and Seventeenth Century Ottoman history; Hungarian history; and Ottoman philology
Bregel, Yuri
Professor Emeritus
bregel@indiana.edu
History of Islamic Central Asia
Fierman, William
Professor Emeritus
wfierman@indiana.edu
Politics of Central Asia, especially policies affecting language, Islam, and state identities.

Szegedy-Maszák, Mihály
Professor Emeritus
szegedym@indiana.edu

 

Cultural studies, comparative literature, Interacts studies, narratology, structuralism and translation, romanticism, nationalism, modernism and postmodernism

Lecturers

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact Fall 2015 Office Hours
Crum, Sibel
Lecturer
Turkish Language sariogul@indiana.edu
GA 3021
(812) 856-5613


GA 3021

Daneshgar, Shahyar
Senior Lecturer
Persian, Azerbaijani Languages sdaneshg@indiana.edu
GA 3007
(812) 856-0025


GA 3007

Hodjaev, Malik
John D. Soper Senior Lecturer
Uzbek Language mhodjaev@indiana.edu
GA 3032
(812) 855-3904

GA 3032
Kivik, Piibi-Kai
Lecturer
Estonian Language pkivik@indiana.edu
GA 3022
(812) 856-7442


GA 3022

Legden, Tserenchunt
Senior Lecturer
Mongolian Language tlegden@indiana.edu
GA 3013
(812) 855-2099


GA 3013

Nazarova, Gulnisa
Senior Lecturer
Uyghur Language gnazarov@indiana.edu
GA 3011
(812) 856-2814


GA 3011

Rabsal, Gedun
Senior Lecturer
Tibetan Language grabsal@indiana.edu
GA 3012
(812) 856-2960


GA 3012

Taurama, Mikko
Lecturer
Finnish Language mtaurama@indiana.edu
GA 3037
(812) 855-4862


GA 3037

Varga, Valeria
Senior Lecturer
Hungarian Language vvarga@indiana.edu
GA 3029
(812) 856-5064


GA 3029

Zlotin, Roman
Senior Lecturer
Geography rzlotin@indiana.edu
Weatherly Hall 110
By appointment

Librarians

Faculty Member Contact
Khabibullaev, Akram
Librarian for Middle Eastern, Islamic, and Central Eurasian Studies
akkhabib@indiana.edu
Wells Library E960
(812) 855-9885

Wen-ling Liu
Librarian for East Asian Collection and Tibetan Studies

wliu@indiana.edu
Wells Library E860
(812) 855-9695

Staff

Staff Member Contact

Niggle, Karen
Assistant to the Chair
Fiscal Officer

kniggle@indiana.edu
GA 3020
(812) 855-2398

Younger, April
Administrative Secretary
Admissions Secretary
Student Support
Scheduling Officer

ayounger@indiana.edu
GA
(812) 855-2029

Breeding, Jackie
CEUS Office Assistant
Faculty Support

jmbreedi@indiana.edu
GA
(812) 855-2233


Graduate Assistant


GA

Undergraduate Academic Support Contact

Ron Sela
Director of Undergraduate Studies

rsela@indiana.edu
GA 2026
(812) 856-7017

Ashcraft, Jennifer
Undergraduate Academic Advisor

jeashcra@indiana.edu
GA 1043
(812) 855-4538

Piibi-Kai Kivik
Language Coordinator

ceuslc@indiana.edu
GA 3022
(812) 856-7442

Graduate Academic Support Contact

Bovingdon, Gardner
Director of Graduate Studies

gbovingd@indiana.edu
GA 3025
(812) 856-0230
Piibi-Kai Kivik
Language Coordinator

ceuslc@indiana.edu
GA 3022
(812) 855-7442