Indiana University
  • People

9/11 - 10 years later

9/11 Commissioners Panel Discussion

Thursday, September 15

Ten Years Later: The 9/11 Commissioners Reflect

IU Auditorium, 2–4 p.m.

A decade after the Sept. 11, 2001 attacks, members of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, also known as the 9/11 Commission, will gather at Indiana University for a public discussion of subsequent history and lessons learned. The commissioners will visit the campus at the invitation of former U.S. Rep. Lee H. Hamilton, who directs the Center on Congress at Indiana University. Hamilton was vice chairman of the 9/11 Commission, which was chaired by former New Jersey Gov. Thomas Kean.

In addition to Hamilton and Kean, commission members Fred F. Fielding, Jamie S. Gorelick, Slade Gorton, Bob Kerrey, Timothy J. Roemer, and James R. Thompson will participate in the discussion. Ken Bode, former NBC News national correspondent, CNN political analyst and PBS Washington Week in Review host, will serve as moderator.

Admission is free, but tickets are required. Tickets will be available from the IU Auditorium Box Office starting Aug. 30 for IU students, faculty, and staff, and starting Sept. 6 for the general public, with a limit of four tickets per person. For more information, contact the box office at 812-855-1103. Bags, including backpacks, will not be permitted in the Auditorium during the event.

For additional information on the 9/11 Commission, visit To read the 9/11 Commission report, visit

Fred F. Fielding, partner in the Morgan Lewis & Bockius law firm in Washington, D.C., White House counsel for Presidents Ronald Reagan and George W. Bush, and adviser to Vice President Dick Cheney. Bio

Jamie S. Gorelick, deputy attorney general under President Bill Clinton, co-chair of the American Bar Association's Commission on Legal Ethics 20/20. Bio

Slade Gorton, attorney with K&L Gates and former three-term U.S. senator from Washington. Bio

Lee H. Hamilton, commission vice chairman, former member of Congress from Indiana and chair of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, and the Iran-Contra committee. Bio

Thomas H. Kean, commission chairman, former governor of New Jersey, former president of Drew University, and current chairman of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Bio

Bob Kerrey, president emeritus of The New School and former governor of Nebraska and U.S. senator from Nebraska, co-chair of the Concord Coalition. Bio

Timothy J. Roemer, former member of Congress from Indiana, U.S. ambassador to India, 2009-11. Bio

James R. Thompson, longest-serving governor of Illinois (1977-91), senior chairman of Winston & Strawn law firm . Bio